St Andrews CastleThe castle at St Andrews was founded around 1200AD as a home for the Bishop of St Andrews. It was rebuilt some time in the 14th century, but later destroyed again in 1547. It is open to visitors all year round. The castle contains a 24 ft deep 'bottle dungeon' and beneath are tunnels which were used during a siege.
Castle Visitor Centre, Tel: 01334 477196